Family Engagement

Meaningful Family Engagement is based on the premise that parents, educators, and community members share responsibility for youth development.  It is fostered through a deliberate process and embraced throughout the school community.  It empowers adults to jointly support student growth and address barriers to learning and is mindful of diverse school-communities and responsive to student and family needs.  

Family Engagement training sessions below provide a foundational level of support for school/district teams in developing and expanding school-family partnerships. This training is aligned to the Illinois State Board of Education’s Family Engagement Framework.

Foundational-Services Overview (with notes) (to be part of each training ) (***updated 8-3-16***)

Foundational Services – COLOR Infographic (*Updated 6-19-16**)

Informational Sheet for Family Engagement **Updated 9-19-16**


LINKS FOR AREA COORDINATORS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS  

MONTHLY AREA COORDINATOR CALLS for Family Engagement are the 2nd Thursday of every month at 3:45 PM. Please add this recurring meeting to your FY16 calendar and plan to participate each month. listserv for AC = familyengagementfs@iarss.org

 

NETWORKING FOR IMPLEMENTATION

**Updated 10-19-16**

The purpose of Networking for Implementation sessions is to provide participants an opportunity for deeper discussion around shared experiences and expertise for the purpose of implementing approved content in the seven Foundational Services areas.  The Networking for Implementation opportunities are based on specific objectives as determined by identified needs for further implementation discussions and/or exploration of the resources along with sharing.

Networking for Implementation sessions may include one or all of the following objectives for participants within a focus topic:

  • Examine a focus topic in depth to support implementation
  • Share impacts, successes, and lessons learned related to the implementation of the focus topic by facilitator(s) and participants
  • Ask and collaboratively address questions and challenges related to the implementation of the focus topic

Networking for Implementation Guidance Document and Facilitator Considerations

Networking for Implementation ppt


 ISBE Family Engagement Framework

 

One Day Training Materials:  The materials below are all of the items needed to facilitate the one-day training for Foundational Services Family Engagement.

The one day family engagement training (see above) has also been broken out into two hour training sessions.  Sessions were developed for the three focus areas in the one day training.  This provides greater flexibility for scheduling and can accommodate specific professional development needs.  The module facilitator guides, presentations and pre and post surveys are available below. 

  • Making the Case for Family Engagement: (Optional training– for teams needing extra support increasing stakeholder investment): Participants will build awareness and increase stakeholder involvement in developing meaningful partnerships with families that is linked to learning and healthy development. The training provides a review of key research findings on the impact of family engagement on student achievement and school improvement outcomes as well as a summary of the legislative mandates that require parental involvement.  (Two hours in length) 
  • Building Cultural Competency: (Optional training): Participants, attending in teams, will increase their ability to engage families from diverse backgrounds in meaningful and effective ways that are linked to student achievement and school improvement planning.   It is designed to promote personal development, improve communications, interpersonal relationships, group dynamics, team development and inter-group relationships so that team can work effectively in cross-cultural situations.  (Two hours in length) **Updated 12-2-15**
  • ISBE Family Engagement Framework:  This training is primarily designed to build awareness and capacity on how to use Illinois State Board of Education’s (ISBE) Family Engagement (FE) Framework.  The training provides a complete review of ISBE’s FE Framework and its various components.  Participants will learn how to use this tool in developing and expanding school-family partnerships to support student learning and healthy development.  (Two hours in length) 
  • Collaborative Approach:  This training is designed to introduce participants to a collaborative approach to engaging families in order to jointly support student learning and healthy development.   Paramount to this work is the ability to include parents in the planning, implementation, and evaluation of family engagement efforts.  This training will specifically focus on how to establish and maintain an effective team in which all members, including family representatives, have a shared commitment to improving family engagement and student outcomes.  (Two hours in length) 
    • Collaborative Approach— all the materials needed for this two hour module are contained in the linked zip file
  • Assessing and Action Planning: Participants, attending in teams, will build their capacity in assessing and planning for meaningful family engagement using the self-assessment and action planning tools. 

Other Resources

ISBE approved family friendly links:

http://www.ilclassroomsinaction.org/stakeholder-communications.html (for community, boards, parents, and teachers)

http://www.ilclassroomsinaction.org/ctc-newsletters.html (Capture the Core newsletter archives, October should be posted soon!)

http://www.ilclassroomsinaction.org/parents-and-families.html (all for families)


CONTACT INFORMATION

Family Engagement Core Planning Team 1-4-17
FamEng CORE – lead FA Linda Oshita loshita@kids.org
FamEng CORE – ISBE Marci Johnson marjohns@isbe.net
FamEng CORE – Content Sarah Ogeto sogeto@isbe.net
FamEng CORE – Content Kevin McClure kmcclure@illinoiscsi.org
FamEng CORE Ryan Wamser ryanwamser@stclair.k12.il.us
FamEng CORE Suzy Dees deess@roe17.org
FE Area Coordinators 1-4-17
FE 1c ROE 31 Liz Hutchins lizhutchins@comcast.net
FE 1c ROE 24 & 56 Chris McAfee cmcafee@pdaonline.org
FE 2 ROE 4 Catherene Martin catherenem@yahoo.com
FE 2 ROE 28 Dara Carr dcarr@bhsroe.org
FE 3 ROE 51 Mary Jo Bangert mjbang3@gmail.com
FE 3 ROE 48 Kristie Hubbard khubbard@peoriaroe.org
FE 4 ROE 32 Michelle Fitts mfitts@i-kan.org
FE 4 ROE 39 Paula Clark clarkpj@roe39.k12.il.us
FE 5 ROE 50 Mary Adams maryla1@att.net
FE 5 ROE 40 Alice Stanely astanley128@gmail.com
FE 6 ROE 21 Mandy Horn mhorn@roe21.org
FE 6 ROE 21 Pam Walden pam.walden@ilmtss.net
FE North Cook Alison Gordon agordon@sd735.org
FE South Cook Kathleen Doyle kdoyle@s-cook.org
FE West 40 ISC Brook Wozniak bwozniak@west40.org
FE West 40 ISC Cathy Berlinger Gustafson cbgustafsn@cs.com
FE Service Providers 1-4-17
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Linda Knicker lknicker@dupage.k12.il.us
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Susan Schwicardi sschwicardi@dupage.k12.il.us
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Morris Mallory pew20134@gmail.com
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Adrienne Johnson ajteaches@gmail.com
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Mary Ellen Young Maryellen.young@comcast.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 19 Beth Sullivan bsullivan@dupage.k12.il.us
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Ann Johnson annmj@sbcglobal.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Annette Moore annettemoore@comcast.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Lorraine Plum lorplum@sbcglobal.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Carolyn Kerkla kerkla@sbcglobal.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Chris Dennison jadennison@ameritech.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Liz Hutchins lizhutchins@comcast.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 31 Roberta Sejnost rsejnost@comcast.net
FE AREA 1 – ROE 34 Janet Elenbogen Jelenbogen1@aol.com
FE AREA 1 – ROE 34 Bud Pulaski jpulaski70@gmail.com
FE AREA 1 – ROE 24 & 56 Chris McAfee cmcafee@pdaonline.org
FE AREA 1 – ROE 24 & 56 Mary Chignoli mchignoli@pdaonline.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 4-16-44 Nancy Ryan nryan@kidsroe.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 4-16-44 Nancy Reczek nreczek@kidsroe.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 4-16-44 Kathy Naill knaill@kidsroe.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 4-16-44 Cathy Martin catherenem@yahoo.com
FE AREA 2 – ROE 8 Steve Herkert sherkert@roe8.com
FE AREA 2 – ROE 8 Deb Endress debendress@gmail.com
FE AREA 2 – ROE 8 Mary Gardner megardner2@comcast.net
FE AREA 2 – ROE 8 Erin Jordan erinjordan82@gmail.com
FE AREA 2 – ROE 28
FE AREA 2 – ROE 28 Dara Carr dcarr@bhsroe.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 35 Ronnie Uebel ruebel@roe35.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 35 Carodeane Armstrong carmstrong@roe35.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 47 Anji Garza agarza@roe47.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 47 Jennifer Freeman jfreeman@roe47.org
FE AREA 2 – ROE 49 Deb Taber deb.taber@riroe.com
FE AREA 2 – ROE 49 Nancy Galbraith nancy.galbraith@riroe.com
FE AREA 3 – ROE 1 Jan Cory jcory@roe1.net
FE AREA 3 – ROE 26 Kate McGruder erlybegn@roe26.net
FE AREA 3 – ROE 33 Angie Torrance atorrance@roe33.net
FE AREA 3 – ROE 33 Sue McKee smckee@roe33.net
FE AREA 3 – ROE 48 Kim Glow kglow@peoriaroe.org
FE AREA 3 – ROE 48 Cindy Dollman cdollman@peoriaroe.org
FE Area 3 – ROE #48 Kristie Hubbard khubbard@peoriaroe.org
FE AREA 3 – ROE 51 Kristie Hubbard khubbard@peoriaroe.org
FE AREA 3- ROE 51 Mary Jo Bangert mjbang3@gmail.com
FE AREA 3 – ROE 53 Jodi Bouris jodibourisconsulting@yahoo.com
FE AREA 4- ROE 9 & 54 Regina Parnell parnellr@ROE9.k12.il.us
FE AREA 4 – ROE 9 & 54 LaToria Smith latoriasmith89@yahoo.com
FE AREA 4 – ROE 11 Carol Jones jonesc@paris95.k12.il.us
FE AREA 4 – ROE 11 Vicki Riggen vriggen@chrisman.k12.il.us
FE AREA 4 – ROE 17 Debra Honneger dhonegger@roe17.org
FE AREA 4 – ROE 32 Catriese Carson-Jackson ccarson-jackson@i-kan.org
FE AREA 4 – ROE 32 Libby Wilken lwilken@i-kan.org
FE AREA 4 – ROE 32 Michelle Fitts mfitts@i-kan.org
FE AREA 4 – ROE 32 Lisa Harrod lharrod@manteno5.org
FE AREA 4 – ROE 39 Paula Clark clarkpj@roe39.k12.il.us
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Mary Adams maryla1@att.net
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Marcy Mollett mmollett@mgschools.com
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Jenny Seachrist seachris@u40gw.effingham.k12.il.us
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Kim Major majorfamily3@rocketmail.com
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Brandi Bruley bbruley@taylorvilleschools.com
FE Area 5 ROE 3 Andrea Lee alee@litchfieldpanthers.org
FE Area 5 ROE 40 Alice Stanley astanley128@gmail.com
FE Area 5 ROE 41 Karen Caires kcaires@easd14.org
FE Area 5 ROE 41 Lynne Newton lsnew10@gmail.com
FE Area 5 ROE 41 Jamie Orban jorban@bethalto.org
FE Area 5 ROE 41 Kelly Shortal kshort04@bethalto.org
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Scott Beckley sbeckley@sparta.k12.il.us
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Mary Niebrugge maryn@roe45.org
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Valerie Ruebusch vruebusch@gmail.com
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Mary Ann Quivey mquivey@roe45.org
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Chelsea Wesselmann cwesselmann@roe45.org
FE Area 5 ROE 45 Marybeth McCormick mmccormick@roe45.net
FE Area 5 ROE 50 Rosella Wamser rwamser@stclair.k12.il.us
FE AREA 6 – ROE 12 Roselene Quick roselene.quick@hutsonvilletigers.net
FE AREA 6 – ROE 12 Janelle Oxford joxford@robinsonschools.com
FE AREA 6 – ROE 13 Helen Donsbach hjdonsbach@yahoo.com
FE AREA 6 – ROE 20 Covered by ROE 21
FE AREA 6 – ROE 21 Mandy Horn mhorn@roe21.org
FE AREA 6 – ROE 30 Chris Emery clemery@roe30.org
FE AREA 6 – ROE 30 Pam Walden pwalden@roe30.org

This program is fully (100%) funded with federal grant dollars.