Become a Trainer/Facilitator for Your Building/District! This page contains the current and future ELA training sessions that can be offered to schools/districts through Foundational Services. All materials needed for the various training sessions are available on this page.

Attendees will reflect on effective ways of sharing the information with other educators at the district or school level and will leave these sessions with access to the materials needed to lead discussions regarding implementation of the ELA and Content Area Literacy shifts. Teacher leader teams, along with their administrators, are encouraged to attend this training.

Foundational-Services Overview (with notes) (to be part of each training ) (***updated 8-3-16***)

Foundational Services – COLOR Infographic (*Updated 6-19-16**)

Informational Sheet for ELA **Updated 9-19-16**


LINKS FOR AREA COORDINATORS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS

 

ELA AC/SP listserv = elafoundationalservices@iarss.org.

 

http://www.illinoisliteracyinaction.org/

 

 

NETWORKING FOR IMPLEMENTATION

**Updated 10-19-16**

The purpose of Networking for Implementation sessions is to provide participants an opportunity for deeper discussion around shared experiences and expertise for the purpose of implementing approved content in the seven Foundational Services areas.  The Networking for Implementation opportunities are based on specific objectives as determined by identified needs for further implementation discussions and/or exploration of the resources along with sharing.

Networking for Implementation sessions may include one or all of the following objectives for participants within a focus topic:

  • Examine a focus topic in depth to support implementation
  • Share impacts, successes, and lessons learned related to the implementation of the focus topic by facilitator(s) and participants
  • Ask and collaboratively address questions and challenges related to the implementation of the focus topic

Networking for Implementation Guidance Document and Facilitator Considerations

Networking for Implementation ppt

 


MATERIALS FOR AREA COORDINATORS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS

*** http://www.ilclassroomsinaction.org/ — this is your one-stop “shopping” for everything related to ELA.  At the bottom of the page, click on the little white envelope titled “listserv signup” to receive the latest and greatest information from the ELA Content Specialists. ***

ELA: Shift Kits  The English Language Arts (ELA) shift kits were designed in partnership with the ISBE and the ELA Content Specialists. There are nine separate kits based on PARCC’s advances as well as one administrator’s kit.

The Table of Contents for each topic lists the specific components including videos, webinars and websites for the shift.

  • Academic Vocabulary    Pre-Post Academic Vocab
    • The Academic Vocabulary Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of academic vocabulary.Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction of Academic Vocabulary
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Close Reading Kit     Pre-Post Close Reading
    • The Close Reading Kit was designed to give administrators and teachers some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of Close Reading. Contents of the kit include:
      • An introduction and definition of Close reading and the need for rigorous instruction across content areas;
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level;
      • Research based articles supporting the strategy of Close reading; and
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS.
  • Content Area Literacy Kit  Pre-Post Content Area Literacy
    • The Content Area Literacy Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators of Grades 6-12 some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in content area literacy and areas other than language arts. Contents of the kit include:
      • Distinction between English Language Arts, Content Area Literacy and Disciplinary Literacy
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • English Language Arts Kit    Pre-Post English Language Arts
    • The English Language Arts Kit was designed to give English teachers and administrators of Grades 6-12 some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of English language arts. Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction of English language arts
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Informational Text Kit     Pre-Post Informational Text
    • The Informational Text Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of informational text. Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction of Informational Text
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Narrative Writing    Pre-Post Narrative Writing
    • The Narrative Writing Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of narrative writing. Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction and differences of narrative writing types
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Text Complexity     Pre-Post Text Complexity
    • The Text Complexity Kit was designed to give administrators and teachers some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of Text Complexity.  Contents of the kit include:
      • An introduction and definition of Text Complexity and the need for rigorous instruction across content areas
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Research based articles supporting the need for complex text
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Text Dependent Question Kit     Pre-Post Text Dependent Questions
    • The Text-Dependent Questions Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in the area of creating text-dependent questions for close analytic reading.  Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction of Text-Dependent Questions
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Writing From Source Shift Kit    Pre-Post Writing from Sources
    • The Writing From Sources Kit was designed to give teachers and administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in writing from sources.Contents of the kit include:
      • Introduction of writing from sources
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS
  • Administrative Resource Kit (optional kit for administrators)
    • The Administrator’s Kit was designed to give administrators some background information on what is expected for student achievement with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).
      • Contents of the kit include:
      • Review of the CCSS and the need for rigorous instruction across content areas
      • Presentation materials to build capacity at the school level
      • Instructional resources responsive to the demands of the CCSS

 

ELA: EQuIP Rubric — Participants will be able to locate EQuIP (Educators Evaluating the Quality of Instructional Products) resources that Illinois is utilizing in the effort to align multi-day lesson plans and units to the Illinois Learning Standards in ELA. EQUIP is an initiative of the American Diploma Project (ADP) Network designed to identify high-quality materials aligned to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).

 

ELA: ELA Writing Matters Training  — This resource-rich professional development will provide educators with instructional practices to implement the Illinois Learning Standards for Writing.  The Illinois Literacy in Action (formerly named Illinois Writing Matters) website *http://www.illinoisliteracyinaction.org/ will be used to facilitate the various writing tasks necessary to meet the standards and prepare for PARCC.  Strategies and resources will be shared.  **Updated 6-5-17**

ELA:  ELA training – Writing to Read: Evidence for How Writing Can Improve Reading — Ariel and Will Durant were right when they said, “Education is the transmission of civilization.” Putting our current challenges into historical context, it is obvious that if today’s youngsters cannot read with understanding, think about and analyze what they’ve read, and then write clearly and effectively about what they’ve learned and what they think, then they may never be able to do justice to their talents and their potential. ISBE Content Specialists will use the Writing to Read research from the Carnegie Corporation by Steve Graham and Michael Hebert to identify the cluster of closely related instructional practices shown to be effective in improving students’ reading. The report groups these practices within three core recommendations in order of the strength of their supporting evidence.  A culminating activity of designing a classroom task and connections to PARCC will be shared. 


CONTACT INFORMATION 

ELA Core Planning Team Members 6-26-17
ELA CORE – lead FA Lori Fanello lfanello@kidsroe.org
ELA CORE – ISBE Suzy Dees sdees@isbe.net
ELA CORE – FA Susan Safarty ssarfaty@stclair.k12.il.us
ELA CORE – Content Kathi Rhodus krhodus@isbe.net
ELA CORE – Content Jill Brown jbrown@isbe.net
ELA Area Coordinators 1-4-17
ELA 1 Shay McCorkle smccorkle@lake.k12.il.us
ELA 1 Roberta Sejnost rsejnost@comcast.net
ELA 2 Suki Glasser sglasser@kidsroe.org
ELA 2 Joan Tunnell jtunnell@kidsroe.org
ELA 3 Mary Jo Bangert mjbang3@gmail.com
ELA 3 Cindy Dollman cdollman@peoriaroe.org
ELA 4 Katie O’Dell kodell@roe11.org
ELA 4 Debra Honegger dhonegger@roe17.org
ELA 5 Meg Dees mldees50@gmail.com
ELA 5 Kim Henke Kim.Henke@tcusd2.org
ELA 6 Dr. Margo Willis wil65@midwest.net
ELA 6 Sherry Geier sgeier@rccu1.net
ELA North Cook Laura Beltchenko lbeltchenko@gmail.com
ELA South Cook Kathleen Doyle kdoyle@s-cook.org
ELA South Cook Jill Liapis jliapis@s-cook.org
ELA West 40 ISC Brooke Wozniak bwozniak@west40.org
ELA West 40 ISC Cathy Berlinger Gustafson cbgustafsn@cs.com
ELA Service Providers 1-12-17
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Jean Baldikoski jbaldikoski@dupage.k12.il.us
ELA Area 1C ROE #19 Adrienne Johnson ajteaches@gmail.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Susan Schwicardi sschwicardi@dupage.k12.il.us
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Kathy Bruni Kate.bruni@gmail.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Tammy Potts Tpotts7@aol.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Patti Tylka ptyka@comcast.net
ELA Area 1C ROE # 19 Sherry Sichak bsephak@wowway.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 31 Roberta Sejnost rsejnost@comcast.net
ELA Area 1C ROE # 31 Ann Johnson annmj@sbcglobal.net
ELA Area 1C ROE # 31 Lynn Glasser lynnglaser@sbcglobal.net
ELA Area 1C ROE#34 Shay McCorkle smccorkle@lake.roe34.org
ELA Area 1C ROE # 56&24 Tom Anstett anstettt@yahoo.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 56&24 Gail Bohnenstiehl gbohnenstiehl@pdaonline.org
ELA Area 1C ROE # 56&24 Jan Lenci blenci19@sbcglobal.net
ELA Area 1C ROE # 56&24 DeDe Brenczewski dedebren@gmail.com
ELA Area 1C ROE # 56&24 Melissa Thulin Brenczewski@hotmail.com
ELA Area 2 ROE 4-16-44 Suki Glasser sglasser@kidsroe.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 4-16-44 Joan Tunnell jtunnell@kidsroe.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 4-16-44 Georgann Mielnik ggnik@att.net
ELA Area 2 ROE 4-16-44 Kathy Holloway khollowa@kidsroe.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Deb Endress debendress@gmail.com
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Janis Jones janis.a.jones@svcc.edu
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Mary Gardner megardner2@comcast.net
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Pat Schneider pat.schneider@fsd145.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Cheryl Robinson crobinson@dist13.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Robin Palmer rpalmer@dist399.net
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Kim Thorsen kthorsen@riveridge210.org
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Kathie Napholz knapholz@dakota201.com
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Elly Steenrod davest1@comcast.net
ELA Area 2 ROE 8 Lisa Bott lisab905@gmail.com
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 28 Dara Carr dcarr@bhsroe.org
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 28 Molly Hickerson mhickerson@bhsroe.com
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 35 Virjean Haywood vhaywood@roe35.org
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 35 Sally Cooper sallyscooper@yahoo.com
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 35 Steve Novario snovario@roe35.org
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 47 Anji Garza agarza@roe47.org
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 47 Jennifer Freeman jfreeman@roe47.org
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 49 Deb Taber Deb.Taber@riroe.com
ELA AREA 2 – ROE 49 Ken Jaeke ken.jaeke@riroe.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #1 Jill Reis jreis@roe1.net
ELA Area 3 ROE #1 Jan Cory jcory@roe1.net
ELA Area 3 ROE #1 Mickey Elliot mickeyelliottela@gmail.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #26 Elaine Dion e.dion@mchsi.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #26 Sue Raftis sueraftis8@gmail.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #33 Sue McKee smckee@roe33.net
ELA Area 3 ROE #33 Dea Conrad-Curry d.conrad.curry@gmail.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #48 Cindy Dollman cdollman@peoriaroe.org
ELA Area 3 ROE #48 Kim Glow kglow@peoriaroe.org
ELA Area 3 ROE #51 Mary Jo Bangert mjbang3@gmail.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #51 Chris Peterson cpeterson@havana126.net
ELA Area 3 ROE #51 Anne Midden anne.midden@gmail.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #53 Marilee Springer msprenge@aol.com
ELA Area 3 ROE #53 Deanna Butler deannabutler54@gmail.com
ELA Area 4 ROE #9 Tracy Welch twelch@usd116.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #9 Paige Waggoner pwaggoner@usd116.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #9 Kathryn Plotner kplotner@usd116.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #9 Meagan Stenzel mstenzel@usd116.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #11 Katie O’Dell kodell@roe11.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #11 Vicki Riggen vriggen@chrisman.k12.il.us
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Debra Honegger dhonegger@roe17.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Dana Convery dconvery@prairiecentral.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Mindy Gerike gerikem@husd4.k12.il.us
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Karisa Yeagle kyeagle@blueridge18.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Lori Carby lcarby@tri-valley3.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Ruth Getchius ruth.getchius@gmail.com
ELA Area 4 ROE #17 Laura Delgado delgadoll@unit5.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #32 Michele Keiser keis1118@gmail.com
ELA Area 4 ROE #32 Pete Falk falkp@hcusd2.org
ELA Area 4 ROE #39 Paula Clark Clarkpj@roe39.k12.il.us
ELA Area 4 ROE #39 Barbara Preston prestonb@roe39.k12.il.us
ELA Area 4 ROE #54 Rachel Zick zickri@hoopeston.k12.il.us
ELA Area 4 ROE #54 Michelle White whiteml@hoopeston.k12.il.us
ELA Area 5 ROE #3 Valerie Sanguinetti vsanguinetti@roe3.org
ELA Area 5 ROE#3 Mary Adams marylal@att.net
ELA Area 5 ROE#3 Rachel Schaal rschaal@bcusd201.com
ELA Area 5 ROE#3 Laura Arney l.arney@mchsi.com
ELA Area 5 ROE#3 Brandi Bruley bbruley@tcusd3.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #40 Alice Stanley Dervin astanley128@gmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Lynne Newton lnew10@gmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Laura Owca laura.owca@madisoncusd12.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Elaine Kane ekane@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Erin Dooling edooling@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Kristen Saenz ksaenz@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Cindy Inman cinman@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Jordan Brannon jbrannon@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Christy Casher casherc@yahoo.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Joni Taylor jtaylor@eawr.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Kelly Gardner kgardner@eawr.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Kari Ann Wineland kwineland@bethalto.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Jacob Carlson jcarlson@bethalto.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Keri Lugge klugge@bethalto.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Katrina Knebel kknebel@kahoks.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Susan Bohler bohler4@sbcglobal.net
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Kim Romero kimromero20@hotmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Tracy Bentley tbentley@estd13.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Karen Caires kcaires@easd13.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Sarah Chapman-Wiser sarah.chapman@gcsd9.net
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Michael Cooper mcooper@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Stephanie Digirolamo sdigirol@kahoks.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Emily Enskat eenskat@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Meme Evans mevans@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Kim Gremaud Kim.Gremaud@tcusd2.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Lisa Harris lharris@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Maria Scott mscott@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Brian Zurek bzurek@altonschools.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Crystal Haselhorst Crystal.Haselhorst@tcusd2.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Susanne Himsel Susanne.Himsel@tcusd2.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #41 Amy VanHoose Amy.VanHoose@tcusd2.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Marybeth Mckormick mmccormick@roe45.net
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Deb Greaney dgedconsult@gmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Lyndi Davis ldavis@kelnet.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Stephanie Rubach srubach@gmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Michelle Mohr mdhmohr@gmail.com
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Mary Niebruegge maryn@roe45.net
ELA Area 5 ROE #45 Mary Ann Quivey mquivey@roe45.org
ELA Area 5 ROE #50 Deb Greaney dgedconsult@gmail.com
ELA Area 6 ROE #12 Sherry Geier sgeier@rccu1.net
ELA Area 6 ROE #13 Marsha Garrett mgarrett@woodlawnschools.org
ELA Area 6 ROE #13 Jane Rohr jrohr@obr5.org
ELA Area 6 ROE #20 Sherry Geier sgeier@rccu1.net
ELA Area 6 ROE #21 Amy Doss amy.doss@cocusd3.com
ELA Area 6 ROE #21 Aime Chelin achelin@marionunit2.org
ELA Area 6 ROE #30 Dr. Margo Willis wil65@midwest.net
ELA Area 6 ROE #30 Bryan Dunn bryan.dunn@cchs165.com

This program is fully (100%) funded with federal grant dollars.

Translate »